Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Cricketing excellence at AVM outshines the summer sun!

As the temperature soared, children started to anticipate a big summer break, India geared up for the fifth edition of IPL, Atmiya Vidya Mandir as well went into the cricket carnival with its own version of IPL. Like every year it was that time of the year when students were divided into different teams named after popular IPL franchise. Captains were chosen by the sports team to lead their respective teams.

The whole event was planned very meticulously by Ramakar Sir (Sports In Charge). Ritesh Sir and Pradeep Sir worked hard and created a very sporting pitch in the cricket ground. Green lush outfield was prepared and the marking was done as AVM braced for a scintillating tournament.

The whole of the event divided into three groups:
  • Yogi Premiere League (YPL for class 4, 5),
  • Bhoolku Premiere League (BPL for class 6, 7) and
  • Atmiya Premiere League (APL for class 8, 9).

The tournament was divided into two major rounds:
  1. League round where all the teams would play once to the other teams in the group and
  2. Knockout round where top two teams from the each group would play semifinals and finals.

Students and teachers showed tremendous amount of enthusiasm in the scorching heat to play the game that the whole of India love the most. Teams showed amazing spirit and technical knowledge of the game during the matches. In the battle of ball and bat new heroes arise with their spectacular performances and became popular with the crowd.

After the first round, top teams from groups battled hard to qualify for the finals of the tournament. After an absorbing semifinals stage each group (APL, BPL and YPL) had their finalists. In YPL it was the final between Kings Eleven Punjab (KXIP) and Mumbai Indians (MI). Shivam Patel with his all-round performance won KXIP the YPL title. Rishi Patel (MI) was chosen as the Man of the Series. While Shivam Patel won the Best Bowler prize.

In BPL, it was an interesting dual between KXIP and Delhi Daredevils (DD). But Hitarth Savani’s quick-fire 23 runs sealed the championship for KXIP. However the Man of the Series award was won by MI’s Dev T Patel for an amazing consistent performance with the bat and ball. Nikhil Khanpara was declared Best Bowler for the tournament.

In APL, MI were up against the Deccan Chargers (DC). MI captain, Aakash Patel made a superb 42 to set up a very tough target for the DC. But good performance by Jay Patel and a responsible knock from Captain Harshill Soni DC won the finals in an emphatic fashion. Aakash Patel was given the Man of the Match award, but Jay Patel won the Man of the Series as well as Best Bowler award for a memorable performance throughout the tournament.

The event was concluded with a presentation ceremony where Guests awarded the certificates and trophies to the teams and individual winners. P. Fuvaji, Natuda (both trustees), Haresh Sir (Administrator) and Vijay Sir (Principal) graced the ceremony and applauded the success of the event.

The success of the tournament was a bright example of teamwork from different sections of the school. The school management, sports teachers’ team, kitchen department, house masters and didis along with the students came together and created a memorable event for the students who would be leaving for the summer break with plenty of energy and enthusiasm.

Written By: The AVM Sports Team

No comments: