Wednesday, July 11, 2012

2012-13 Student Council Elections

For the smooth functioning of any institution, stable governance is a must. Similarly, for maintenance of discipline in the school and representing of students’ views to the school authorities, a students’ council is required. Thus, Atmiya Vidya Mandir witnessed its third student council election in the second week of the academic year 2012-13.

The students who were shortlisted for the posts of House Captains and House Vice Captains in the council gave their campaign speeches during the Monday-Thursday morning assemblies. The nominees for the post of Vice Head Boy & Sports Captain appealed for votes on Friday. Whereas the nominees for the central post of the council i.e. Head Boy tried to win the hearts of students and teachers and appealed for votes on Saturday.

The elections were held on 23rd June 2012 in the school assembly hall from 11 AM to about 1 PM. The students and teachers gave their votes using an electronic voting system and witnessed the functioning of a true democracy in the process.

The results of the elections were as follows:

Head Boy:           Vikas Patel (Class 11 Commerce)
Vice Head Boy:  Rohan Shingala (Class 9)
Sports Captain Harshill Soni (Class 9)

Satyam House
Captain:             Sachin Verlekar (Class 10)
Vice Captain:    Jay Vankawala (Class 8)

Shivam House
Captain:             Het Adhvaryu (Class10)
Vice Captain:     Abhishek Patel (Class 8)

Sundaram House
Captain:             Tanmay Patel (Class 10)
Vice Captain:     Vaishvik C Patel (Class 8)

Suhradam House
Captain:             Harsh Vaghela (Class 10)
Vice Captain:    Vaishvik B Patel (Class 8)

And thus starts a new journey of Atmiya Vidya Mandir for a yet another year led by these remarkable student leaders.

Compiled by: Ishan Vaghasiya, Purva Patel, Romal Patel, Aditya Patel (12th Science)

No comments: